LONDON (Diya TV) — The UK government has proposed the inclusion of India and Georgia in its list of “safe states,” a move aimed at streamlining the process of returning illegal migrants to their home countries and preventing them from seeking asylum in the UK. The draft legislation, laid out on Wednesday, outlines that individuals arriving from these countries without permission will be ineligible to claim asylum.

Prime Minister Rishi Sunak has prioritized curbing small boat arrivals of asylum seekers across the English Channel as one of his key leadership goals. However, despite these efforts, over 26,000 migrants have arrived via this perilous route since the beginning of the year, according to recent UK Government figures.

The expansion of the “safe states” list is part of the UK’s Illegal Migration Act, which aims to remove individuals with no legal basis to stay in the country. Home Secretary Suella Braverman emphasized that the move sends a clear message that illegal arrivals will not be allowed to stay, reinforcing the government’s determination to combat illegal migration.

Campaigners have criticized the government’s focus on such policies, urging a shift towards building a fair and efficient asylum system that delivers timely decisions. Meanwhile, the government awaits a Supreme Court judgment on the legality of its plan to send some asylum seekers to Rwanda under the Illegal Migration Act.

The proposal to include India in the expanded list aligns with the government’s efforts to prevent unfounded protection claims and strengthen the immigration system. Home Secretary Suella Braverman stated, “We must stop people making dangerous and illegal journeys to the UK from fundamentally safe countries.”

The Home Office has rigorously assessed India and Georgia, determining that both meet the criteria for inclusion in the safe states list. The proposal will undergo parliamentary scrutiny, with debates in both Houses before the legislation takes effect. Other countries designated as safe by the UK include Switzerland, Albania, and various European Union and European Economic Area states.