Sanjay Putrevu, newly appointed Dean Monte Ahuja College of Business, Cleveland State University
Sanjay Putrevu, newly appointed Dean Monte Ahuja College of Business, Cleveland State University. Courtesy: Cleveland State University 

CLEVELAND, Ohio (Diya TV) — Sanjay Putrevu, an experienced academic administrator and national expert on advertising and consumer behavior, has been named dean of the Monte Ahuja College of Business at Cleveland State University. Fun fact, Monte Ahuja is the father in law of Silicon Valley Congressman Ro Khanna

He will oversee all administrative and operational activities, as well as work to enhance the college’s growing reputation as a national center of business education, scholarship and research, the university said.

Putrevu’s salary will be $290,000 annually, with a $15,000 stipend for his dual appointment as the Monte Ahuja Endowed Chair in the college. He will begin July 1. He has previously served as the dean of the University of Wyoming’s College of Business, beginning that post in July 2015. Prior to that he was a professor of marketing and associate dean of the School of Business at the University at Albany, State University of New York.

Putrevu replaces Joseph Mazzola, who stepped down as dean in April 2015. Mazzola, hired in 2013 after a nationwide search, is a faculty member at the college.

“Dr. Putrevu is a proven leader and nationally recognized scholar with the expertise and insights necessary to continue the tremendous growth the Ahuja College of Business has experienced over the last five years,” CSU Provost Jianping Zhu said in a statement.

He earned a doctorate in marketing from State University of New York at Buffalo and master of management studies from Birla Institute of Technology and Science in India. Before going to the University at Albany, Putrevu was on the College of Business faculty at Bryant University in Smithfield, R.I., and Brock University in St. Catharines, Ontario. He has held faculty appointments at universities in the United States, Canada, Australia, India and France.