SAN FRANCISCO (Diya TV) — Seven Indian-American students have been nominated as recipients of the prestigious Harry S. Truman Scholarship, which is awarded annually to college juniors who demonstrate leadership and a commitment to public service.

Winners of the award, which provides $30,000 for graduate studies, will be determined by the nominees’ record of leadership, public service and academic achievement. Only about 60 Truman scholars are selected each year.

The foundation has reviewed more than 700 applicants from more than 300 colleges. Now, the field has been narrowed to 199 students from 136 schools, according a news release.

Among the scholarship finalists were Shreya Ganeshan of the University of Georgia, Anjali Misra of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Samarth Gupta of Harvard University, Megan Patel of Georgetown University, Maya Durvasula of Duke University, Manju Bangalore of the University of Oregon, and Anjana Murali of the University of Pittsburgh.

The foundation’s regional review panel will interview the nominees from March 3 through April 7, winners will be announced on April 21. The Truman Scholarship Foundation was established by Congress in 1975 as the federal memorial to President Harry S Truman.