Rajendra R. Aparasu
Rajendra R. Aparasu

HOUSTON (Diya TV) — Rajendra R. Aparasu, professor and pharmaceutical chair at the University of Houston, has been selected to the Fulbright Specialist Roster, a program which allows faculty members of universities in the U.S. to share their academic expertise with and develop stronger relationships with universities around the world.

The program is funded by the State Department’s Bureau of Education and Cultural Affiars. Aparasu was selected for his outstanding achievements in the pharmaceutical field.

“There are very few Fulbright specialists in pharmacy; I am really honored to be selected for Fulbright Specialist Roster,” said Aparasu, whose five-year term ends in 2021.

“This is a great opportunity to offer my expertise in developing professional and graduate pharmacy programs that involve pharmaceutical health outcomes and policy,” he said.

“I am looking forward to the opportunity to visit overseas pharmacy institutions to assist faculty and administrators with respect to academic and research programs in pharmaceutical outcomes research.”

Aparasu was educated at Kakatiya University, where he received his Bachelor’s in pharmacy, and his Master’s in the same field from Jadavpur University, India. Finally, he received his PhD in pharmacy administration from University of Louisiana. He joined the faculty of the University of Texas in 2006 after serving on the faculty at South Dakota State University for more than a decade.

His primary areas of expertise include geriatrics, pharmacoepidemiology, psychopharmacology and evidence-based medicine.

Aparasu’s current research, funded courtesy of a grant received from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), is evaluating the safety of anticholinergic medications used by elderly residents of various nursing homes. Aparasu has authored and co-authored nearly 100 peer-reviewed journals, seven book chapters, in addition to serving as editor and co-author of two books, Principles of Research Design and Drug Literature and Research Methods for Pharmaceutical Practice and Policy.